Danish driver Michael Nykjær has won his second consecutive European Touring Car Cup at the Salzburgring, driving a Chevrolet Denmark-run Lacetti. Nykjær won the first round and finished second in the second race, scoring enough points to beat SEAT driver Oscar Nogues in the final standings.

The ETCC is an annual one-off event, grouping touring cars from different countries which host national championships. This year competitors from Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Portugal, Russia, Sweden and the United Kingdom were invited. Apart from cars built to S2000 specifications – like the current generation WTCC cars – cars from the Super Production and S1600 classes are also eligible.

Michael Nykjær had qualified on pole position and managed to keep his car in front in the first race, beating Richard Göransson by a mere two tenths after a race-long neck and neck battle which saw both drivers lead on occasion.

M. Nykjæ - Chevrolet Lacetti

In the second race, Nykjær managed to avoid the first corner mayhem and tucked in behind occasional WTCC driver Oscar Nogues' SEAT Leon. His second place was enough to beat Nogues in the point standings and take home a second FIA European Touring Car Cup.


Michael Nykjær (1st/2nd): "It is unbelievable to have won the ETCC for the second time running, especially after one of the craziest races I have ever raced. In the first race, Richard (Göransson) and I swapped positions continuously until on the penultimate lap I passed him for good. On that last lap I had to close the door in almost every corner but I managed to keep him at bay until the end. In the second race I could avoid the cars going off in the first corner at the start and quickly worked my way up to second, which I knew was good enough to win the cup."


1.     M Nykjær     Chevrolet Lacetti     12 laps in 17m51s594 2.     R Göransson     BMW 320si     +0s190 3.     O Nogues     SEAT Leon     +11s506 4.     K Poulsen     BMW 320si     +14s720 5.     C Campanico     BMW 320si     +15s096 6.     J Møller     Honda Accord Euro R     +29s739 7.     M Eskilinen     BMW 320si     +30s363 8.     J Nilsson     BMW 320si     +30s703


1.     O Nogues     SEAT Leon     12 laps in 18m05s232 2.     M Nykjær     Chevrolet Lacetti     +3s313 3.     R Göransson     BMW 320si     +6s502 4.     F Engstler     BMW 320si     +6s814 5.     T Engstrom     Honda Accord Euro R     +17s504 6.     J Møller     Honda Accord Euro R     +18s095 7.     C Campanico     BMW 320si     +18s316 8.     M Eskelinen     BMW 320si     +38s397


1. M Nykjaer (Chevrolet) 18pts; 2. O Nogues (SEAT), 16; 3. R Göransson (BMW), 14; 4. C Campanico (BMW), 6; 5. J Möller (Honda), 6;...