Acura made one more step in defending brand's reputation in the field of safety drive and luxury with the redesigned and fresh 2016 Acura RLX. The model has won full score at the New Car Assessment Program (NCAP). In fact, NCAP gave the 5-star rates not only to the 2016 Acura RLX, but also to the RLX Sport Hybrid. In fact, 2016 RLX is also rated as the TOP SAFETY PICK by the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS).

The latest RLX model really offers incredible features and tweaks. It comes with different trims, that offer incredible flexibility and customization, but now, with the 2016 model comes one more extra. The AcuraWatch. This is a pack of technologies, that increase the driver's awareness and helps for avoiding collisions. The AcuraWatch also includes Acura's Collision Mitigation Braking System, which is an independent emergency braking system.

SEE ALSO: Acura Releases More Technical Details on the Super Cool NSX

In fact, 2016 RLX offers incredible set of technology and tweaks and depending on the trim you get Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC), Collision Mitigation Braking System (CMBS), Forward Collision Warning (FCW), Lane Departure Warning (LDW), Blind Spot Information (BSI), Multi-View Rear Camera with Dynamic Guidelines.

In fact, the Surround View Camera System is an interesting addition to the 2016 RLX model. This is the first model to include such a technology, that provides a 360-degree image of the area around the vehicle. It offers incredible assistance when it comes to careful driving and precise parking. The system includes four camera, that together create a bird's eye image, that ensure both wonderful visibility and reaction time.

But despite the additions and further tunings the 2016 RLX sedan comes with price, no different from the previous model.

2016 Acura RLX, 1 of 5
2016 Acura RLX, 2 of 5
2016 Acura RLX, 3 of 5
2016 Acura RLX, 4 of 5
2016 Acura RLX, 5 of 5

Press release:

Acura has taken another step in solidifying its reputation as the safety leader and innovator in the luxury segment with the addition of the Acura RLX to its growing list of models earning a 5-Star Overall Vehicle Score, the top available rating in the U.S. government's New Car Assessment Program (NCAP). The safety rating, which includes five star ratings in all six crash test ratings and a five-star rollover resistance rating, applies to the 2016 RLX and RLX Sport Hybrid.

In addition to the RLX, Acura has earned top safety ratings from the NHTSA and the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) TOP SAFETY PICK+ rating for the TLX performance sedan and MDX luxury SUV, which are each equipped with the exclusive AcuraWatch™ suite of advanced safety and driver-assistive technologies. AcuraWatch™ has expanded to every model in the Acura lineup for 2016.

"The 2016 Acura RLX exemplifies how the brand is creating new value for luxury customers with the addition of advanced safety technologies," said Michael Accavitti, senior vice president and general manager, Acura Division. "Luxury customers expect the latest in technology and Acura delivers with safety and driver assistive technologies available across the lineup."

AcuraWatch™ Available on all trims and standard on the Technology and Advance packages, the RLX now includes AcuraWatch™, a comprehensive suite of safety and driver assistive technologies that help to improve the driver's situational awareness and, in certain circumstances, intervene to help avoid a collision or mitigate its severity. AcuraWatch™ includes Acura's Collision Mitigation Braking System, an autonomous emergency braking (AEB) feature that the NHTSA recently announced would be added to its list of NCAP recommended safety features.

The 2016 RLX offers the most comprehensive suite of safety and driver assistive technologies available on an Acura vehicle to date; depending upon trim, the RLX includes:  

  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC) with Low-Speed Follow (LSF)
  • Collision Mitigation Braking System™ (CMBS)
  • Forward Collision Warning (FCW)
  • Lane Departure Warning (LDW)
  • Lane Keeping Assist System (LKAS)
  • Road Departure Mitigation (RDM) – new to RLX
  • Blind Spot Information (BSI)
  • Multi-View Rear Camera with Dynamic Guidelines
  • Cross Traffic Monitor – new to RLX

Acura Surround View Camera System The luxury sedan features the first U.S. application of Acura's Surround View Camera system, which provides a 360-degree image of the area around the vehicle. Assisting drivers with critical and precise driving and parking situations, the system employs four cameras to seamlessly create a composite bird's eye image to provide the driver with information about the surroundings. The cameras can also provide singular views behind, in front, to the left and right of the vehicle. Dynamic guidelines are displayed on the navigation screen to help the driver see their projected path relative to the lines demarking parking spaces or other objects, allowing them to maneuver with greater confidence.

RLX Gets Other Key Refinements The 2016 RLX flagship luxury sedan has also received significant chassis tuning refinements to enhance ride quality and has upgraded to 19-inch wheels that are standard across all trims. Despite all of the additions to the 2016 model year, the manufacturer's suggested retail prices (MSRP) of the 2016 RLX remain unchanged from the previous model year.

The 2016 RLX Sport Hybrid, which features a three-motor Sport Hybrid Super Handling All-Wheel Drive (SH-AWD) system with electrically powered torque vectoring, will go on sale in early June.

Source: Acura