Mazda will hit the Japanese market with a new RX-8 Spirit R special edition. The vehicle will be limited in series of just 1000 units as production ends in June 2012.

The RX-8 SPIRIT R is based on the RX-8 Type RS with 6-speed manual transmission and Type E with 6-speed electronically-controlled automatic transmission. The special edition model will come with new seats and nice alloy wheels.

It also includes specially tuned sport suspension and larger brakes with red calipers. The headlights are also new as well as the fog lights with black bezel rear combination lights. The limited RX-8 has SPIRIT R badge, a piano-black transmission tunnel trim, and leather Recaro sports seats with red stitching.


2012 Mazda RX-8 SPIRIT R:

Base models RX-8 Type RS (with six-speed manual transmission) and RX-8 Type E (with six-speed electronically-controlled automatic transmission) Special equipment For both manual and automatic transmission models Exclusive SPIRIT R badge Front headlights, front fog lights and rear combination lights (with black bezels) Front and rear brake calipers (red) Transmission tunnel trim (piano-black) Curtain and front side SRS airbag system Exclusive to the manual transmission model Specially-made SPIRIT R bucket seats from RECARO 225/40R19 89W tires and 19-inch alloy wheels (bronze) Exclusive to the automatic transmission model Leather seats (black with red stitching) Leather-wrapped steering wheel (black with red stitching) Parking brake lever (with red stitching) Center console box front seat armrest and rear console box lid covered with synthetic leather (with red stitching) Sports suspension, larger brakes 225/45R18 91W tires and 18-inch alloy wheels (gun metallic) Exterior body colors Aluminum Metallic Sparkling Black Mica Crystal White Pearl Mica

Mazda RX-8 SPIRIT R (2011) - picture 1 of 3
Mazda RX-8 SPIRIT R (2011) - picture 2 of 3
Mazda RX-8 SPIRIT R (2011) - picture 3 of 3

Source: Mazda